Coinbase Assembles Global Advisory Council Featuring US Politicians & Industry Leaders

  • Coinbase has established a Global Advisory Council to navigate the regulatory landscape surrounding the crypto industry.
  • The crypto exchange has tapped former U.S. lawmakers, including a former Senator and a political strategist for the council.
  • The new council will work alongside an existing regulatory advisory council that includes former SEC Chair, Jay Clayton.

American crypto giant Coinbase has established a Global Advisory Council that is aimed at helping the company navigate the complex and dynamic landscape of the crypto industry. The San Francisco-based crypto exchange announced the formation of the new council in a blog post earlier today. The advisory council features a team of U.S. politicians and political strategists along with crypto industry leaders. 

Global Advisory Council Will Guide Coinbase Executives

Coinbase unveiled its Global Advisory Council through a blog post earlier today. The crypto exchange has tapped several former lawmakers, including former U.S. Senator Patrick Toomey (R-PA), former U.S. Congressman Tim Ryan (D-OH), and former U.S. Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY). The council also features top political strategist John Anzalone and the Chief Strategy Officer of Haun Ventures Chris Lehane. 

The creation of the Advisory Council is a significant step for Coinbase as we navigate an increasingly complex and evolving landscape in the US and internationally.”

Coinbase CEO Brian Armstrong took to Twitter earlier today to welcome the members of the new advisory council. Armstrong was joined by the exchange Chief Policy Officer Faryar Shirzad in welcoming the new advisory team. Shirzad stated that the firm intends to add more leaders from the United States and abroad to the advisory council over the next few weeks. 

The Global Advisory Council will guide Coinbase’s leadership team by providing insights and strategic expertise. It will work alongside members of the Coinbase Asset Management Academic and Regulatory Advisory Council, which features former government officials, including former Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Chairman Jay Clayton and Courtney Elwood, former General Counsel at CIA.